A NIGHT AT THE GOLDEN TEMPLE

“God is one but he has innumerable forms. He is the creator of all and he himself takes the human form” – Guru Nanak Dev ji.

I have always wanted to visit the Golden Temple (Harmandar Sahib) for many reasons, but most importantly because I’ve always felt a strong connection with the place. After my first visit, a couple of years ago, I got the opportunity to visit the Temple again in March this year.

The peace and tranquility I experience here is incomparable to any other.

My favourite time for Darshan is at night.  I prefer reaching the temple by 3am and waiting right until sunrise.

Here are a few glimpses of a night darshan at the Golden Temple through the lens of my camera.

IMG_7822

(Temple at 4.30 am, everyone gets ready for Palki Sahib to be brought in)

IMG_7839

(View of the Har Ki Pauri, Golden Temple Amritsar)

IMG_7849

(I sit and immerse myself into the love and humility that this place showers on each soul present as night turns into a new beginning and a new day – as the First Ardas begins at 5.30am)
IMG_7852(Each part of the temple has a message for us – the reflections and openness of the temple helps me to reflect on my life and open up to love of universe…)

IMG_5197

(And then, the temple in the early morning hues of sunrise … this transition is even more beautiful than my pictures and words could describe… It doesn’t get more fulfilling than this)

DSCN1407

(And finally, a token to remind me of my beautiful night; me at the temple before I pay my last respects, only hoping to come back soon…)

Thank you baba for another beautiful experience.

 

(To know more about the history, routine of the temple, you can also look up the website: http://www.goldentempleamritsar.org/daily-routine-of-sri-harmandir-sahib.php)

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “A NIGHT AT THE GOLDEN TEMPLE

Leave a Reply

